Clearance Stew: Gumbo-inspired Muck

It was one of those days when the leftovers and odds and ends reached critical mass. A number of loose food ends that are at risk of going bad unless they’re chucked out (which is very unfashionable these days) or made into a clearance stew (a.k.a. fridge stew). Such stews can take any number of directions, depending on what it is that you’ve forgotten behind the eggs and the jam. The deciding factor for me was probably the bag of okra pods in the freezer. I bought them just because I could, with only a vague idea that they’re used for thickening in Cajun cooking. As per usual, I knew very little about the dish I was going to get inspired by, in this case gumbo. Apart from okra I seemed to recall that onions, celery and green peppers were important, and that it was supposed to be fairly spicy. From there it was touch and go.

001 2

Leftover spanish chorizo, beef stock cubes, ground beef (bought just before Christmas, frozen and forgotten) green bell pepper, the last bit of savoy cabbage, shallots, carrots, cured sausages of some kind, red chili pepper, mushrooms, garlic, onion, celery and okra. Since the main protein is ground beef, this dish can at most be Cajun-inspired or have a hint of Louisiana, but my intention wasn’t to make actual gumbo, but rather to make a stew that’d last all week.

003 2

Chopped onions, carrots, garlic, celery, peppers and chili. Whole shallots.

006 2

Beef, mushrooms, cabbage, cured sausage and chorizo added

008 2

Stock and okra go in, along with some herbs and a bit of tomato paste

010 2

A couple of hours of slow simmering produces half a gallon of swamp-like stew. Way tastier than it looks.

 

2 Responses to “Clearance Stew: Gumbo-inspired Muck”

  1. Clearance, swamp, and muck. There’s marketing for you.
    The first time I bought okra I was feeling adventurous and experimental during a couple months stay in Florida.
    Still recall the horror I felt when I lifted the lid and stirred it.
    Also the last time I bought okra.

    • If one doesn’t expect a pot of vegetable phlegm I can understand the aversion :) Allegedly an acidic cooking liquid will reduce the forming of mucus. I’ve also seen suggestions that whole okra is best eaten stir-fried.

Leave a Reply

