We’re frying salad now?

Here in Sweden, Chinese cabbage (or nappa cabbage, or napa cabbage) is mostly encountered in a salad bowl, but in Korea it’s commonly used for kimchi (i.e. fermented and spiced) and in China the seeds are pressed for cooking oil. It’s also used in stir fries in many stir-frying countries, something which seems pretty far fetched to a Swedish palate.

I had to try it of course and whipped up a lunch box, containing fried rice, garlic sprouts and Chinese cabbage. In the end I added some prefab meatballs to get more protein in there. It wasn’t bad at all and I recognized the texture, so I think I must have had it on occasion in a box of Thai or Chinese take-away.

Super ugly phone photo today, because I was in a hurry.

003 2

One Response to “We’re frying salad now?”

  1. Napa cabbage is a standard entry in many of the vegetable-based dishes at the Chinese eateries here. I almost never have it any other way but stir-fried, even when I buy it for myself. Guess I should shred some up for salad next time.

Leave a Reply

