Smoked Salmon Hash

There’s been quite a long silence, for quite good reasons if I might say so myself. I got married on June 1st (which was preceded by a lot of nervousness and preparations) and then went honeymooning in New York for a bit over a week. The trip will be elaborated upon once I’ve sorted through the 900+ pictures.

Swedish hash, or pyttipanna, is made by frying neatly diced potatoes and leftover meats along with chopped onions. We were a bit short in the leftover meats department but had some smoked salmon that we got from my wife’s aunt, who was clearing out her fridge.

003 2

In one pan, onions, fried over medium heat until brown. I added some garlic and red peppers to keep the salmon more company.

004 2

In a second pan, potatoes, along with a sprig of thyme.

006 2

Once everything is more or less cooked, the salmon can be added. It really doesn’t need a lot of pan time, already being smoked.

009 2

Potatoes tipped in too. Time to season and stir.

010 2

Pyttipanna is traditionally served with fried eggs and pickled beets (and in recent times often with ketchup and similar) but I decided to manage without.

One Response to “Smoked Salmon Hash”

  1. I love Pyttipanna – as child it was my favourite thing! The theory can be applied to just about anything and I love the idea of using up smoked salmon. Delicious I am sure! So nice to have found your blog :)

Leave a Reply

