The Mediterranean Lunch

As usual with me and blogs, new posts are made with great irregularity. Today’s recipe is from a photo session back in October when I happened upon 50% discount chorizo. And since it was really nice chorizo and a long time since I did anything not Asian flavored it basically had me at hello. I won’t pretend to be an expert in Mediterranean cuisine since my hands-on experience with the region is limited to six days in Crete back in 96, but I think  most people will agree that this dish is quite Mediterranean in style.

ingredients

These are today’s ingredients: Discount chorizo, a tomato, a red onion, a handful of olives, a piece of stinky cheese, spaghetti, assorted herbs and spices and garlic.

chopping board

First it’s time to get choppy. Since the chorizo is 97% raw pork I decided it would be safest to use a separate board, knife and bowl for it.


Since I didn’t plan to fry the onion very hard I soaked it in balsamic vinegar for a little while to remove a bit of bitterness.

frying stuff
Moving on to frying stuff. The chorizo goes in first, since  it’s raw to begin with. It might be 97% meat, but the meat in question is evidently not fat free. It is in fact the greasiest sausage I’ve ever encountered. Might want to tip some of the fat out before adding tomato, onion, olives and garlic. Use whatever herbs and spices you like. I chose thyme, rosemary, oregano, powdered chili and coarsely ground black pepper. If I had any smoked paprika I’d probably use it. The chorizo should be cooked through before adding everything else, and because of that it’s not necessary to cook it for very long afterwards. Just let stuff get sufficiently hot.

result
Meanwhile, some friendly person has been boiling spaghetti and grating cheese. Stir these in and serve. The preferred drink to go with it would probably be any kind of wine or light, watery type beer. I would probably go with a nice rosé/rosado.

That’s it for this post. I hope I’ll have time for a new one soon.

2 Responses to “The Mediterranean Lunch”

  1. Must have smelled divine.

Leave a Reply

