The Rice Pancake Experiment

The preparation and consumption of the dish for my last blog post about beef stew yielded a certain amount of left over rice which I decided to have for lunch the next day. As noon drew nearer I pondered on the matter of making yesterday’s rice more fun. Pancakes are usually fun. I went with the idea.

Since most people know how to make pancakes, there’s no real need for a lot of photos in this post. I mixed (with a hand blender) about two cups of cooked jasmine rice with a cup of milk, three eggs and about half a cup of wheat flour. Add salt, pepper and such. Let the batter rest for some time, then fry as usual.

I added the flour because I suspected that without it the pancakes wouldn’t hold together well enough. I don’t know if I was correct but I probably was. Blending more thoroughly than I did would of course make the batter smoother, allowing for thinner pancakes – which in turn means shorter cooking time. I’m thinking that the whiteness of these pancakes when not browned compared to common flour pancakes is rather striking and an interesting visual feature .

Rice pancakes, served with sliced mushroom, a leaf of red cabbage, sour cream and black pepper. As with regular pancakes, adding different stuff enables serving as either first course, dessert or anything else basically.

2 Responses to “The Rice Pancake Experiment”

  1. You might have managed without the flour but it would have been a different animal then. This is lovely.

Leave a Reply

