The Amorphous Loaf

Had another go at baking sourdough bread, this time with rye-based sourdough and less yeast. Also allowed the sourdough slurry to get comfy in room temperature overnight to get things going. Since most bread I make gets kind of dense, I used a little less flour than I usually do, which meant the dough was almost too sticky to handle. This, in turn, meant I wasn’t too interested in trying to shape it into loaves, so I just dumped the whole thing in a dish normally used for roasts and let nature take its course so to speak.

I put a pint or so of water in a tin in the oven and placed a saucepan on the vent to keep as much of the resulting steam as possible inside the oven, then removed both tin and pan after a bit less than half time. Also, prior to baking, Jabba the Loaf had been lightly sprayed with water and sprinkled with sea salt, which I imagine did have some kind of effect on the crust.

As you can see, there was also a good dusting of flour and a sprinkle of French herbs (which you probably can’t see)

To me, this is quite good bread with nice crust, moisture and chewiness, but there is an acidic note from the sourdough, which ideally shouldn’t be there. It’s entirely possible that my sourdough is crappy and that I should start a new one. Luckily, the collected sourdough wisdom of the blogosphere is huge.

Here’s a picture to show the crust and insides. One could call this bread a semi-foccacia of sorts since it was left to its own devises in a rectangular container but not deliberately flattened.

2 Responses to “The Amorphous Loaf”

  1. That’s hilarious. True free-form bread.
    Gets sourer too, depending on temps and rise time. But I’ll spare you my bread pedant hyper-analysis.

Leave a Reply

