The Treacherous Chili Sauce

Before going to France, I had bought a small bunch of yellow chili peppers. Fairly mild, but still not something I’d snack on. Just before we left I put them in the freezer, since we’d be away for ten days. Apart from using a small piece for gazpacho I haven’t touched them since and decided it was time to make use what was left.

I decided to do some kind of cold sauce, which could for example be drizzled on top of instant ramen to give it a bit of bite.

Chilies, bereft of their seeds, chopped up and mixed with various spices, vinegar, sugar and a good dollop of mayonnaise (which we all know is good for you). If the combo seems a bit odd, I’ll have you know that the Japanese put mayonnaise on almost anything these days.

I figured this concoction would be a rather docile condiment with a pleasant heat, since the chilies weren’t very strong, but NO, it had somehow become nearly too strong to be amusing. Clearly not something to be had on its own.

So I did what anyone in my position would have done; added ramen and bacon. Clears the sinuses rather well and gives a sense of accomplishment once one has managed to finish eating.

2 Responses to “The Treacherous Chili Sauce”

  1. Too strong to be amusing…..:-D

    • I managed to get accustomed to spicy food when travelling Malaysia and Thailand ten years ago, but that’s worn off since, and I’m rather wussy when it comes to chili heat these days :)

Leave a Reply

